Visa Lottery

The Visa Lottery is also known as the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program.  This makes 50,000 permanent resident visas available annually to people from countries with low rates of immigration.  Applicants are chosen by a computer-generated random lottery drawing.  The visas are distributed among six geographic regions, and no one country within the region may receive more than seven percent of the available visas.

For the year 2006, the people of the following countries are not allowed to apply because they have sent a total of more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. in the past five years:
CANADA, CHINA (mainland-born), COLOMBIA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, EL SALVADOR, HAITI, INDIA, JAMAICA, MEXICO, PAKISTAN, PHILIPPINES, RUSSIA, SOUTH KOREA, UNITED KINGDOM (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and VIETNAM. Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR and Taiwan are eligible.

Disclaimer: The materials in Asonye & Associates web site have been prepared to permit visitors to our web site to learn more about the services we offer. These materials do not, and are not intended to, constitute legal advice. Neither transmission nor receipt of such materials will create an attorney-client relationship between the sender and receiver. Internet subscribers and online readers are advised not to take or refrain from taking any action based upon materials in this web site without consulting legal counsel. We do not undertake to update any materials in our Web Site to reflect subsequent legal or other developments.